Hobson Wildenthal Honors College at UT Dallas

Terry Scholars, Class of 2020

The 2020 class of Terry Scholars at UT Dallas includes the following traditional students:

Yosef Awad

Vandegrift High School, Austin
Yosef Awad was a member of the Science National Honor Society. He was a tutor in the Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) program and a mentor to elementary and middle school students through the Peer Assistance Leadership (PAL) Program. Awad was also involved in C Squared (C2) as well as the Investment and Entrepreneurship Club. He volunteered with We Are Blood and Bags of Grace. Awad is majoring in neuroscience.

Tarik Lbayad

North Garland High School, Garland
Tarik Lbayad was an AP Scholar and a member of Mu Alpha Theta Math Honor Society. He was head of research for the Environmental Club and captain of the varsity cross country team. Lbayad interned as an athletic trainer at his high school and was also a clinical rotations intern at Baylor Scott & White. He volunteered at North Garland Library and the MAS Islamic Center of Dallas. Lbayad is majoring in biochemistry.

Mya Miller

Winona High School, Winona
Mya Miller was class president, Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) president, and National Honor Society vice president. She was also on the varsity golf team. Miller received the student of the month award and was a UIL persuasive speaker winner. She volunteered at a veterans nursing home, the East Texas Food Bank and served the homeless at Church Under the Bridge. Miller is majoring in economics.

Joseph Paroski

Edward S. Marcus High School, Flower Mound
Joseph Paroski was an AP Scholar and National Hispanic Scholar. He was an Eagle Scout and also won second place in sparring at the National Taekwondo Tournament in Dallas. Paroski was also a member of ASL Club as well as the Japanese & English Language Exchange. He volunteered at the Christian Community in Action’s Food Pantry and Special Abilities of North Texas. Paroski is majoring in computer science.

Mark Salazar

East Early College High School, Houston
Mark Salazar was president of National Honor Society, founder and president of HOSA for future health professionals, and vice-president of the League of United Latin American Citizens. He interned with a radiologist at Texas Vein & Wellness and also shadowed a family medicine physician at East End Medical Clinic. Salazar volunteered at the Houston Food Bank, Power House Gym, and as a HOSA medic for sports games. He is majoring in biology.

Devina Setiono

Plano Senior High School, Plano
Devina Setiono was an AP Scholar. She was the senior chairman of community service for student congress and administrative officer for Robotics. Setiono was also a participant in Kung Fu at the Shaolin Wu Yi Institute, a singer and guitarist at her local church, and served as a tutor in math and chemistry. She volunteered at the Genesis Women’s Shelter, Feed My Starving Children and Samaritan’s Purse. Setiono is majoring in chemistry.

Eric Shields

Plano Senior High School, Plano
Eric Shields is a black belt in karate where he was ranked No. 1 in Texas for 16-17-year-old males. He was an assistant teacher for Wado International Karate-Do Federation (WIKF). Shields was also an Eagle Scout, participated in competitions for Math Club and was build captain for Robotics. He volunteered at Minnie’s Food Pantry, Tom Thumb Food Drive and as a patrol leader in Boy Scouts. Shields is majoring in computer science.

Abigail Smith

Kingwood High School, Kingwood
Abigail Smith was an AP Scholar. She was founder and president of the Computer Science Honor Society, Girls Who Code and Hack Club. Smith was also secretary and president of the National Arts Honor Society. She was a lead teacher at Code Ninjas where she taught programming. Smith volunteered for various events with FOCUS, as well as with the National Spanish Honor Society and National Tech Honor Society. She is majoring in computer science.

Jimena Soto

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School, Dallas
Jimena Soto, a Dallas ISD Scholar, was historian for National Honor Society, treasurer of Art Club and team leader for Young Women in Science & Engineering Investigators Program. Through the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), she participated in the AT&T ¡Adelante! Leadership Program. Soto volunteered with Consulate General of Mexico and was a mentor at Solar Preparatory School for Girls. She is majoring in arts, technology, and emerging communication with a concentration in design and production.

Jalen Williams

W.B. Ray High School, Corpus Christi
Jalen Williams was president of National Honor Society, captain of the varsity basketball team, and Texas Gulf Coast representative for the Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) program. He also participated in debate and Student Council, and was homecoming king. Williams volunteered with the Share Your Christmas Food Drive and the H-E-B Feast of Sharing, was an assistant coach for City Sports League and served as an academic tutor. He is majoring in neuroscience.